HSSU Faculty Senate Minutes for 8/17/2018

Senators present: Dr. Labi Tiamyu (outgoing Interim President), Dr. Roy Stewart, J. D. Kerr (via conference call), Dr. Bill Kerns, Dr. Andre Smith, Dr. Kenneth Noe, Dr. Candace Idlebird

Senators excused: Dr. Betty Porter-Walls

Guests: Mr. Greg Carr, Dr. Reynaldo Anderson

Call to Order: 2:40pm

Approval of Prior minutes: Deferred to next meeting (outgoing Interim Secretary, Dr. Andre Smith needs to type them up).

Bylaws review committee: To be comprised of A. Smith, K. Noe, J. D. Kerr, and B. Kerns. To review the bylaws, make needed changes, and report to the Faculty Senate next meeting (9/21) for a vote.

Senate Officers Election: Dr. Andre Smith was elected President (unopposed), Dr. Bill Kerns was elected Vice President (unopposed), Dr. Kenneth Noe was elected Secretary (unopposed). Officers duties will begin at the conclusion of the current Senate meeting. Dr. Noe will provide minutes on the current meeting.

Tenure and Promotion

Dr. Tiamyu passed out the latest iteration of the HSSU Tenure and Promotion Policies document. Dr. Tiamyu made a report on the ad hoc Tenure Committee which was created last year to review tenure policy. The faculty at large were not notified of this ad hoc committee. Dr. Tiamyu reported that Dr. DeCarlo was the Chair of the committee. Other members were Dr. Sudarsan Kant, Dr. Bill Kerns, and Dr. Labi Tiamyu. Dr. Kerns reported that the committee met only once (to his knowledge). Dr. Noe questioned why there were untenured members on a committee created to review tenure policy. Mr. Carr asked why Provost Dr. Smith wasn't on the committee, since the Provost was instrumental in creating the tenure policies under review.

At this point Dr. Anderson arrived. He gave an history lesson on the Senate at HSSU, the labor union, tenure, and the general climate of the relationship of faculty and administration historically and at present. From here many issues arose from persons present, including salary (faculty vs. administrative), tenure, the recent course size cap increases, lack of needed full-time faculty, and the difficulties of last-minute course creation and the last-minute need to staff such

classes. Dr. Anderson emphasized that such issues are especially pertinent to the College of Arts and Sciences and Ged Ed faculty. Dr. Noe cited a Gen Ed motion on course cap sizes for English Composition and Speech communication which was approved by the Gen Ed committee last Spring. The motion recommended enrollment caps of no more than 18. The Provost approved the motion at that time, on the condition that the caps be held at 20-22. The motion was ignored with the Fall 2018 course caps of 35, imposed this Fall. Dr. Anderson cited the large body of education literature which states that student learning depreciates when such courses grow beyond thresholds of 20.

Dr. Anderson also raised the issue that the admin's discussion of faculty's last-minute adoption of Bloom's taxonomy (introduced at the Fall 2018 Faculty Institute) received no input from faculty, and that a faculty-admin committee should have been created to review all such possible pedagogical strategies and make a recommendation to the faculty. Instead, it was dropped on faculty a week before the semester start.

Dr. Anderson stated that early iterations of the Faculty Senate discussed plans for a vote of no confidence on the administration, but action was blocked by some members of the then-Senate. Dr. Tiamyu said a vote of no confidence on the University administration can be on the table at any time, and that it is in the power of the Senate to call for a vote on faculty confidence in University leadership.

The discussion was steered back to tenure policy; specifically, the timeframe from Associate to Full Professor. There was a motion to reject the Board's current language on this item (17.3.1), and replace it with 6 years rather than 13 (in accordance with best practices). The Board's (reported) claim that the 13 years language was a typo was met with skepticism by the majority of faculty present. A vote on the motion was called for.

Results of the vote: 7 in favor, 1 abstention, 1 absence. The motion thereby passed. The Faculty Senate thus reached near unanimous agreement that the language of the Board's tenure policy 17.3.1 should state 6 years (not 13) for promotion from Associate to Full Professor.

Educator of the Year: The Senate President shall reach out to the Chairs for nominations for Educator of the Year with criteria for nomination (3 years minimum service and no prior receipt of the EOTY award). The Senate's nomination is due Sept. 21. The Senate will hold an email vote by Sept. 14.

Andre Smith (Senate President-elect) made a call to reinforce shared governance through the standing committees. The committees must hold meetings and make regular reports to the Senate, who will communicate with the upper administration. Dr. Noe concurred, stating that proposals by admin affecting faculty should be brought to the Senate by the admins for discussion, which almost never happens.

The Senate adjourned at 4:10 (R. Stewart motioned, seconded by A. Smith)